England team to play Scotland in Guinness Six Nations

England head coach Eddie Jones has named his team to play Scotland in their last 2019 Guinness Six Nations match at Twickenham Stadium (KO 5pm live on ITV).

There are four changes to the starting XV that lined up against Italy last week. In the backs, Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) replaces Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby) on the right wing and Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) replaces Ben Te'o (Worcester Warriors) who drops to the bench.

Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs) swaps with Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers) in the front row while Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) comes in for Brad Shields (Wasps) who is named as a finisher.

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) will pick up his 85th cap for his country on Saturday and will become England's most capped scrum half of all time moving ahead of Danny Care (Harlequins)

Eddie Jones said: "It is the last week of the tournament so it's exciting. It will be a fascinating finish to the Championship with three teams that can win it and we are playing against one of our most traditional foes in Scotland for the Calcutta Cup. We have had a good preparation and the side is going to be in a great state to play against Scotland on Saturday.

"Scotland is a difficult side, they are always at you, they play with a lot of enthusiasm and effort and have got a lot of attacking strings to their bow. Finn Russell is an exceptional player at 10 and they have got some pace on the outside so we are going to have to defend really well against them."

On Ben Youngs' record he added: "It is a fantastic achievement, it takes a lot of dedication and hard work and it is something he and his family will be really proud of. I am sure he will do the shirt great justice out there on Saturday."

England starting XV (523 caps)

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 29 caps), 14 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 32 caps), 13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 21 caps), 12 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 31 caps), 11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 44 caps), 10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 69 caps) (captain), 9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 84 caps), 1 Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps), 2 Jamie George (Saracens, 36 caps), 3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 21 caps), 4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 57 caps), 5 George Kruis (Saracens, 31 caps), 6 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 12 caps), 7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 9 caps), 8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 40 caps)

Finishers (203 caps)
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 10 caps), 17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 8 caps), 18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 84 caps), 19 Brad Shields (Wasps, 7 caps), 20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 21 caps), 21 Ben Spencer (Saracens, 2 caps), 22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 54 caps), 23 Ben Te'o (Worcester Warriors 17 caps).

latest articles
Next Article
Your basket ()