England side named for Ireland game

Eddie Jones has named his England side for their Guinness Six Nations tie against Ireland this weekend.

England take on Ireland at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday 12 March (4.45pm KO) and will look to make it three wins in a row.

Courtney Lawes will continue to captain the side at blind-side flanker. Vice-captain Tom Curry, who has completed his return to play protocols, will join at open-side flanker and Sam Simmonds will be No.8.

Props Ellis Genge (vice-captain) and Kyle Sinckler join hooker Jamie George (vice-captain) in the front row. Locks Maro Itoje and Charlie Ewels complete the tight five.

Harry Randall is at scrum half and Marcus Smith is fly half while vice-captain Henry Slade (outside) and Joe Marchant (inside) are at centre.

Jack Nowell is at left wing, Max Malins is at right wing, while Freddie Steward is full back.

Alex Dombrandt has rejoined the squad following a period of isolation due to a positive COVID test and is named as finisher, alongside Joe Launchbury who is in line to make his first international appearance since England's win over France in the Autumn Nations Cup final in December 2020.

Jamie Blamire, Joe Marler, Will Stuart, Ben Youngs, George Ford and Elliot Daly make up the finishers.

Jones said: "We've been looking at this game as a semi-final. Ireland are the most cohesive side in the world right now and it will be a good test this weekend.

"We've prepared really well for this game. We did some good team togetherness work in Bristol and had a solid week of training on the pitch here.

"We are looking forward to going after them in front of a great home crowd at Twickenham. It's been special having 82,000 supporters back in for our Six Nations games and it will be a great Test match for them."

England v Ireland is live on ITV and BBC Radio 5 Live.


15. Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 8 caps)
14. Max Malins (Saracens, 13 caps)
13. Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 10 caps)
12. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 46 caps) (VC)
11. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 37 caps)
10. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 8 caps)
9. Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 4 caps)
1. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 34 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 64 caps) (VC)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 50 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 54 caps)
5. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 29 caps)
6. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 91 caps) (C)
7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 39 caps) (VC)
8. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)


16. Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 5 caps)
17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 77 caps)
18. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 18 caps)
19. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 69 caps)
20. Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 7 caps)
21. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 115 caps)
22. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 79 caps)
23. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 55 caps)

latest articles
Next Article
Your basket ()